

St. Clair Region Conservation Authority 205 Mill Pond Cres., Strathroy, ON, N7G 3P9 (519) 245-3710 (519) 245-3348 FAX

E-Mail: stclair@scrca.on.ca Website: www.scrca.on.ca

Member Municipalities

Township of Adelaide-Metcalfe

Municipality of Brooke-Alvinston

Municipality of Chatham-Kent

Township of Dawn-Euphemia

Township of Enniskillen

Municipality of Lambton Shores

Municipality of Middlesex Centre

Village of Newbury

Village of Oil Springs

Town of Petrolia

Town of Plympton-Wyoming

> Village of Point Edward

> > City of Sarnia

Municipality of Southwest Middlesex

Township of St. Clair

Municipality of Strathroy-Caradoc

Township of Warwick

May 17, 2021

Municipality of Lambton Shores Attn: Stephanie Troyer-Boyd, Clerk 7883 Amtelecom Parkway Forest, ON N0N 1J0

Dear Clerk and Council,

St. Clair Region Conservation Authority (SCRCA) celebrated its 60th Anniversary earlier this year and will be continuing to celebrate throughout the year. We have planned several virtual events for the remainder of the year, including a public zoom presentation by former Ontario Environmental Commissioner, Dianne Saxe in September, of which more details will follow. We hope that you can join us in these virtual events until we can gather together in person once again.

The Province of Ontario has been reviewing the Conservation Authorities Act and has made several changes over the last 5 years. On Thursday, May 13, 2021, the Province posted "Regulatory proposals (Phase 1) under the Conservation Authorities Act" (ERO #019-2986) on the Environmental Registry of Ontario. These proposals are open for comment for a period of 45 days.

Upon implementation of these proposed regulations, the Authority will be seeking your cooperation and assistance as we forge provincially mandated memorandums of understanding with each of our partner municipalities.

As stated on page 24 of the REGULATORY PROPOSAL CONSULTATION GUIDE: Regulations Defining Core Mandate and Improving Governance, Oversight and Accountability of Conservation Authorities;

"The un-proclaimed amendments to the Conservation Authorities Act provide requirements for the agreements between conservation authorities and participating municipalities for the use of municipal levies to finance in whole or in part the non-mandatory programs and services that the authority has determined are advisable to further the purposes of the Act."

These memorandums are intended to be in place by the end of 2022 and will be supported by the 2023 budget. A transition plan is being developed to provide direction on securing these memoranda as well as providing a method of reporting progress to the Province. Additional information will be provided as it is available.

Further, the Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks is seeking confirmation that all partner municipalities are appropriately represented by the existing Board of Directors for each Conservation Authority.

member of
Conservation
Ontario

The current plan dates from the last round of municipal amalgamations at the turn of the century. Section 2(2) of the Conservation Authorities Act states: The council of each municipality may appoint representatives to attend the meetings in the following numbers:

- 3. Where the population is 50,000 or more but less than 100,000, three representatives.
- 4. Where the population is 10,000 or more but less than 50,000, two representatives.
- 5. Where the population is less than 10,000, one representative.

Following this directive, 19 of 20 members of the Authority Board were accounted for one (1) member each to Adelaide-Metcalfe, Brooke-Alvinston, Dawn-Euphemia, Enniskillen, Lambton Shores, Middlesex Centre, Petrolia, Plympton-Wyoming, Point Edward, Warwick; two (2) members to Chatham-Kent, St. Clair, Strathroy-Caradoc; three (3) members to Sarnia.

Oil Springs agreed to be represented by Enniskillen.

Southwest Middlesex and Newbury agreed to have rotating members with Southwest Middlesex appointing members for 3 years followed by Newbury appoint the member for one year.

Population and assessed property value in the St. Clair Region as well as the resulting levy were the major contributing factors in these three municipalities agreeing to complete the Board membership at a total of 20 members.

The Board of Directors passed the following resolution at their meeting on April 15, 2021

BD-21-44

Scott - Miller

"That the Board of Directors support the current membership of the St. Clair Region Conservation Authority allocating one (1) member each to Adelaide-Metcalfe, Brooke-Alvinston, Dawn-Euphemia, Lambton Shores, Middlesex Centre, Petrolia, Plympton-Wyoming, Point Edward, Warwick; two (2) members to Chatham-Kent, St. Clair, Strathroy-Caradoc; three (3) members to Sarnia; one (1) member to Enniskillen which will also represent Oil Springs and one (1) member rotating between Southwest Middlesex (for a 3 year term) and Newbury (for a 1 year term) be maintained; and further that each member municipality of the St. Clair Region Conservation Authority support the current membership plan with a resolution of Council to be copied to the Conservation Authority and subsequently to the Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks."

Subsequently, we would appreciate your assistance in reviewing this document with Council as well as supporting a Council motion to support the current membership plan (a draft motion has been provided at the conclusion of this letter for your convenience).

If you have any questions or require any further information, please contact me at your convenience.

Yours truly,

Brian McDougall General Manager

cc. Lorie Scott

Draft motion for Councils consideration:

That the Council of The Municipality of Lambton Shores supports the current membership of the St. Clair Region Conservation Authority allocating one (1) member each to Adelaide-Metcalfe, Brooke-Alvinston, Dawn-Euphemia, Lambton Shores, Middlesex Centre, Petrolia, Plympton-Wyoming, Point Edward, Warwick; two (2) members to Chatham-Kent, St. Clair, Strathroy-Caradoc; three (3) members to Sarnia; one (1) member to Enniskillen which will also represent Oil Springs and one (1) member rotating between Southwest Middlesex (for a 3 year term) and Newbury (for a 1 year term) providing a total Board Membership of 20.